Odell Public Library Board of Trustees Meeting Wednesday, September 9, 2020

The September 9, 2020 board meeting opened at 5:30 pm in the Morrison Community Room. Board members present were Marc Adami, Anne Frame, Debbie Hauptman, Jan Horberg, Melissa Nyboer, Chris Vanderleest, Becky West, and Jessica Wroble. Director Meridith Layne and staff member Lisa Boles also attended along with city councilman Vern Tervelt.

General Business: A) Minutes of the August 19, 2020 meeting were approved, motion by Melissa Nyboer, second by Deb Hauptman, approved with a voice vote. B) Bills and salaries in the amount of \$9,810.83 were approved, motion by Jan Horberg, second by Chris Vanderleest. (roll call vote-8 yes, 0 no). C) The treasurer's report was filed. D) The Director's report was discussed and filed.

Unfinished Business: A) Library services will continue as is until the end of the month. Services will be reevaluated at that time B) There will be no action concerning the budget and staffing at this time.

C) Director Layne will talk with Barry Dykhuizen, the city administrator about the next steps in replacing the library roof and community room roof.

New Business: A) It is not clear at this time if the library will need to be closed on election day according the new state law making election day a state holiday. Director Layne will continue to investigate. B) Trustees were asked to review the agreement between the city and the library "Providing for The Operation and Maintenance of the Odell Public Library and Morrison Community Center Facility" and be prepared to vote on its renewal at the October meeting. C) Melissa Nyboer moved to pay the library's portion to replace the Boiler Room Emergency Light. Second by Chris Vanderleest (roll call vote-8 yes, 0 no)

Board Ideas/Concerns: Deb Hauptman, Jan Horberg, and Melissa Nyboer have agreed to work on bylaws for the library.

The next meeting will be Wednesday, October 14, 2020 at 5:30 in the Morrison Community Room.

The meeting adjourned at 6:47, motion Anne Frame, second by Debbie Hauptman, passed with a voice vote.

Respectfully submitted: Melissa Nyboer, Secretary