Odell Public Library Board of Trustees Meeting Wednesday, March 9, 2022

The March 9, 2022 board meeting opened at 5:35 pm in the Community Room. Board members present were Marc Adami, Anne Frame, Jan Horberg, Anne Mills, Melissa Nyboer, Chris VanderLeest, and Becky West. Director Meridith Layne and Assistant Director Lisa Boles were also in attendance. Vern Tervelt was also in attendance.

General Business: A) Minutes of the February 9, 2022 regular meeting was filed. B) Bills in the amount of \$11,944.08 were approved. Motion by Nyboer, second by Horberg. (roll call vote-Adami yes, Frame yes, Horberg yes, Mills yes, Nyboer yes, VanderLeest yes, West yes) C) The treasurer's report was discussed and filed. D) The Director's report was discussed and filed.

Unfinished Business: A) The Architect used by the City has been hired to review change orders. The \$5,200.00 credit he acquired from the roof contractor will be used to pay his fees. The USDA has awarded an additional grant for the roof for a total amount of \$98,000 B) \$66,510.88 has been raised for the new carpeting project. C) The Library is no longer requiring masks, but is encouraging their use. Restrictions on the number of people allowed in the Program at one time has lifted. All the computers will be made available for patron use.

New Business: A) Frame moved to purchase new Firewall protection from William & Mary Computer Center at an initial cost of \$493.50 with an annual fee of \$100.00. Second by West. (roll call vote-Adami yes, Frame yes, Horberg yes, Mills yes, Nyboer yes, VanderLeest yes, West yes)

Board Ideas/Concerns: Anne Frame requested that the board initiate a policy in which patrons who bequest money to the library be recognized in a way that displays their generosity.

Public Comment: Vern Tervelt, city councilman, updated the board on city activities.

Odell Public Library Friends' Report: none

Closed session: none

The next meeting will be Wednesday, April 13, 2022 at 5:30 pm in the Program Room.

The meeting adjourned at 6:52 pm, motion by West, second by Mills. (passed with a voice vote)

Respectfully submitted: Melissa Nyboer, Secretary